Skip to content

A Special Announcement and more from Sour Grapes

April 19, 2013

SPECIAL ANNOUNCEMENT

 As part of this: http://www.hansardgallery.org.uk/event-detail/29-juneau-projects-i-am-the-warrior/ I will be at John Hansard Gallery Central, Civic Centre Road, Southampton this Saturday, April 20th, performing readings of my poetry. Another poetic event, at a very different venue, is being planned for very soon so please look out for it!

More from Sour Grapes

I called my first collection “Sour Grapes” for a reason, and the following poem comes from its third section, entitled “Disillusionment”.  Alongside personal defects such as gloom and idleness, I think the sense of anger here comes from the feeling of having one’s “work” defined and imposed upon one by external forces. We all have to struggle to prove our “worth” to society, and that task is particularly onerous to a poet!

Starting Work

1.

It’s true, you know

I observed it quite dispassionately

You loved me less

When I wasn’t working.

I know love is a psychological aberration

Built on moments of joy

Shared accidentally

But I didn’t realise that it was based

On conceptions of value.

I did want to make you proud

I wanted to be worthy of your love,

I hadn’t realised

I was supposed to earn it.

You thought I should make something of myself

And I wanted to make myself better

Someone you could love, or at least respect.

It seems we both forgot what Christ said:

“I am what I am”,

There’s no use pretending

To be anything else.

2.

On the day I told you

I had got a job

You sang a song

As though I’d recovered

From an unpleasant disease.

Were you happier then

Than when we tried to make love

Or went on that picnic?

I was glad as well,

It meant we had something to talk about.

But my interest in the subject

Of my unexciting job

Is strictly limited;

Surely you also find it dull?

I wish you hadn’t been so glad,

And said something like,

“It’s a shame

You’ll have to spend the day at work

Away from me and nature and your beautiful thoughts”

Instead of

“At least it’s a start

And better than moping around all day.”

3.

You took it too personally

When I said “I love you”

And naturally thought I was mistaken.

What I meant was

“Today I love the world and all things in it

And I’m glad to share this moment with you.”

If I’d been with someone else

I would perhaps have felt no less radiant,

But I did want and value your company

And then, of course, I made you a giant

To feed my pride.

But the beauty inside all of us,

When it manages to surface,

Is too generous to limit its love to one.

My one ambition

Is to liberate that gold within;

It melts all barriers,

It could free us all.

This morning

I was an hour late for work.

One tries to be a little less cynical these days, but we all certainly need to keep working out what the true nature of “work” is and should be.

From → Critic, Poet

Leave a Comment

Please add your comments!

Novelacious

Dreamy Creamy Reading

CaffeinatedRamblings

Be kind to yourself 🌻

Agnes Torok

Spoken word poet & workshop leader

Burning Eye Books

Never Knowingly Mainstream

Shakespeare's World

A Zooniverse project blog

I am not a silent poet

A magazine for poetry and artwork protesting against abuse in any of its forms

the void

narking off the state since 2005

Aidin Vaziri

Blue Lines: Interviews, Features and Reviews by the San Francisco Chronicle's Pop Music Critic

The Renegade Press

Tales from the mouth of a wolf

Northern Nevermore

So that I can live the life I want to, even if it's not real.

moonworld

since 2003

IMPREINTofficial

The official page of the artist created to host the project 'CUT OFF'.

The Junkyard

dream create share

The poor side of life

EXPOSING CRIMES AGAINST HUMANITY.EXPOSING THE GOVERNMENTS WAR AGAINST THE POOR.FIGHTING FOR BASIC HUMAN RIGHTS. SANCTIONS KILL.

Graeme Sandford

Serial Quiller

50 Shades of me

DARK BLUE

Mindfully Untitled

Becoming a better you

JPF Goodman

An interesting read almost every Friday!

The Shakespeare Code

The Bard, Love, Religion and Politics

annamosca

Poetic Landscapes Of The Spirit

Bano ki Duniya

From Mundane love to Godly Bliss, We are all addicted to something.

Silverfinger Press

A Small Press for FINE writing and Illustration

{ The Undecided Art Collective }

An Art Collective.....people getting together and Doing Art stuff...,putting on exhibitions..without having to pay through the nozzle....defying the usual and bringing home the 'new'.....thankyou..♥

webbyfoot

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Natasha4mp's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

jeff young's notebooks

outlaws and demons

Lisa Scullard

- Just another indie author letting things get out of hand :)

CHATTYOWL

"Owls are not what they seem"

Geo Sans

“right answer, wrong question”

Poesy plus Polemics

Words of Wonder, Worry and Whimsy

Intensify It

© Anca Dunavete

unemployedhack

A journalist's view from the scrapheap

Poems & People

what if poems could be symphonies, and people their orchestra?

johncoyote

Poetry, story and real life.

CATHERINE RYAN HOWARD

She turns coffee into books so she can afford to buy more coffee. And more books.

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

Thailand Footprint: Impressions left by the books, people, places and music of Thailand and South East Asia

Thailand Footprint: People, Things, Literature, Music and Henry Miller too. Forget Yourself Here

Adult & Teen Fiction

Read on and I will show you another world within this one....

Imagineer-ing

an adventure in reading, writing & publishing

Wuji Seshat

Selected Poems

Playwrights' Competition Calendar

Competitions and other opportunities for script writers.

